A GLIMPSE OF THE PAST (MOWELFUND TOUR)

1256494_542471145822765_1502539561_nIt’s been so many days now since the last time I blogged here. Finals for this semester seem to be like hell. I’ve had sleepless nights, I’ve been so stressed all the time and I’ve not been aware anymore if what day it is already. I’ve been looking for many ways to unwind and relieve my pressure and I think it was a blessing from heaven that we were given the chance to have a tour at Movie Workers Welfare Foundation, Inc. or MOWELFUND .

During discussions in our Cinema 101 class about the Philippine Cinema, I was somewhat confused if how the industry was working and it feels like to one of the biggest stars during those times. With our education tour at MOWELFUND, I had a clear vision about all of these and I had a chance to appreciate everything that we were talking about inside the class.

1370492_598006036908026_1435898188_nThere are so many things to say how pleasurable it was to be there. Not only we had the chance to see some existing relics that were used from the movies, but we had also the chance to hear a short talk from MOWELFUND’s president herself Ms. Boots Anson Roa. It was good to know from her that the foundation is not only helping to preserve the face of our film industry before but also, they’re giving a hand to our indigent and underemployed movie workers who are in need of extra earning. Not only that they’re giving an opportunity to these people to work but also, MOWELFUND also has extended medical aids and other form of assistance they could give. I was saddened by that fact that, amidst this good intention, MOWELFUND can’t give all the necessary help for their money sources are so limited. But on the brighter side, I was happy to learn that by simply attending the tour, I did my part to contribute on MOWELFUND’s good intention to lend a hand others.

1369103_598004550241508_686361453_nOn the other hand, when we were given the chance to enter the museum already, the moment that I opened the door and entered the room, I was like inside a movie film and a new world. I had the chance to have a glimpse of the past and that really gave me an unexplainable momentum to see all the stuffs that our professor was talking about. I had a broader knowledge about Philippine Cinema’s history and its biggest film studios. I had even the chance to see aged machines, cameras and other film production equipments that were used before. It was a moment to see myself working in the film industry while I was posing for a photo holding those historic stuffs. Not only had I had the chance to have a little experience to use film production tools, but also it was also good to see actual costumes and props used in the most successful movies that the Philippine Cinema ever produced. It was a bit creepy to see dead stars’ costumes but it served as an eye-opener for us to perceive the evolution of the film industry we had before and today.1371345_598004770241486_170169339_n

These were some of the actual costumes worn by the big stars.

1374698_598005183574778_1506922439_n

Old film strips that were used during production of big movies.

My MOWELFUND experience was more than an academic learning, but also it served an opportunity for me to learn values of preserving the memories of what our great filmmakers have contributed and served as a chance for me to be inspired to be working the industry one day. And so if you have the lenient time aside from going to movie houses, try also visiting MOWELFUND have a glimpse of how everything you see on the big screen actually works!

Leave a comment